## **Foreword**

The expertise, experience, and energy of learned franchise lawyers is the engine that runs the Forum on Franchising. These words have special meaning when applied to this latest edition of the *Franchise Deskbook*, which has been an invaluable resource to franchise practitioners since it was first published in 2001. In twenty-six chapters, with an impressive array of authors too numerous to mention here, the *Franchise Deskbook* takes us through a complete tour of franchise law, from the definition of a franchise, to choice of law and forum, to registration and disclosure and remedies for registration and disclosure violations, to transfers, terminations, non-renewals and other relationship issues. There is no better exemplar of our mission to be the preeminent forum to study and discuss the legal aspects of franchising than this rigorously researched, wonderfully written, and invaluable, practical resource for anyone who practices franchise law.

And the Forum and its members owe Michael Garner an enormous debt of gratitude for his outstanding work as the editor of this publication since its inception. He is joined in this edition by co-editors Karen Boring Satterlee and Bethany Appleby. Together, they have brought the wealth of their combined scholarship and experience to this work, which promises to be the finest and most comprehensive edition of the *Franchise Deskbook* yet.

Thanks also to David Oppenheim, Chair of the Forum's Publications Committee and to Terrence Dunn, who served as the Publications Committee liaison for this ambitious and important book.

The American Bar Association Forum on Franchising is proud to introduce this latest edition of the *Franchise Deskbook*, filled with timely and useful information for our members. And on behalf of the entire Governing Committee, many thanks to the editors for having assembled and supervised a skillful group of chapter authors, and for ensuring the continued vitality of this outstanding work.

Eric H. Karp, Chair ABA Forum on Franchising 2017–2019